My first running race with Garmin’s 401 and personal bests.


My first run race couldn’t be as jittery as signing up for the first Negros Run Expo. I just wanted to try how it feels to be running with several hundred other people. I was debating whether should I go for the 3k as I normally do all the time or for another 50 pesos I might as well join the 5k. Midday runs to me seem normal even with the intense heat of the day but those are short even less than 3k at times. But with Garmin Foretrex 401 and sportstracklive.com as my coach and analysis charts for the past runs I wanted to see how I could fare with people who run without. I was sure a windsurfing buddy of mine was using a wrist gps but from personal reception tests and reviews from magazines I doubt if his was as receptive and accurate when Lacson street was lined with buildings. But nevertheless to each his own liking. I chose the 401 for the race instead of the 201 not because the former had no max speed reset only resetting the whole screen including the trip odometer and moving time but because I knew it’s reception was superb even in a concrete covered environment. With this in mind uploading my tracks to sportstracklive.com would be more accurate in distance and speed and with past runs never had spurious readings to date.

When the gun blew we all scrambled to jockey into position and as a lone runner most of the time slapping elbows and dodging people was a new discipline  for me. I had to keep on reminding myself to run my own pace even if women and men young or old of all shape and sizes seemed flying past me. But on the halfway mark I was now overtaking most of them and now pacing the more consistent ones. This was a first time I never stopped let alone for a 5k and that for me is an outstanding effort of running under the midday sun trying to do personal bests with my sparring partners who are made of chips, wires and programs but only give me realtime information and analysis charts after. The joys of technology never tires never sleeps.

http://www.sportstracklive.com/track/map#JPCuaycong/Running/Bacolod-City/5km-Negros-Run-Expo/277822/full

Leave a Reply

